Week 7 Prototype ::

Week 7 session :: Group Feedback

Because of Anzac Day, We only had one session for this week.

In the class, We divided into 4 people of the group and presented our project prototypes, and got some feedback.

The prototype I currently have is the logo for my project, and I was so appreciate some feedback from my group mates. My project aims to create two zines as part of an awareness campaign. However, I am also considering creating a monthly zine based on conversations and feedback from group members. It is great that this project can be long-lasting instead of short-lived, as I was thinking about how it could be an ongoing discussion. As part of the project, I plan to design a simple item that can serve as a sign of welcoming stories about menstruation. Additionally, I got some ideas from the group about using hashtags and creating a mock-up Instagram page, which I think could be effective.

I also heard that the blue and black colours in my logo mock-up are too strong. I didn’t want my logo to be overly feminine or cheesy, but I understand the opinion that it’s too heavy. My group members suggested that I look into colour psychology and recommend a site that offers some good colour presets. I’m excited to try out different colours.

(some of the presentation illustrations were actually for my visual journal – it was one of the prototypes.)

Reflection ::

I use the website, Coolor, to renew my colour palette for my final Logo. These are some of colour palettes that I collected.

And I also collected period euphemisms for my contents of Zine.

I looked into the euphemisms of menstruation, which are similar or different all over the world. Some expressions that vary from culture to history were interesting, and some that didn’t have anything to do with menstruation.

The purpose is to bring the topic of menstruation to daily life without being heavy but with empathy. I hope the content of this Zine is not too educational. My word selection is strange. But I don’t want to ‘teach’ anyone. This is a matter to think about together rather than teach-teach.

In the part about period euphemisms, I want to ask ‘why’. Metaphors related to menstruation are both ridiculous and funny. There are things that I can relate to in many ways. These expressions are interesting, but I wanted to give people a chance to think about why they use euphemisms before using them. Is it ‘really’ related to menstruation? Why do you have to say it that way to talk about menstruation? You don’t have to stop all the jokes and humour about menstruation. Sometimes we need that, too. But before we use the word, is it necessary? It’s good if you can think about it. Do I have to hide the word menstruation? That’s it. We don’t have to hide our terms! period! menstruation!

Research :: period euphemisms

I collected period euphemisms and made a table using Excel.
The Clue and the International Women’s Health Coalition survey received over 90,000 responses from 190 countries. It covered topics such as education related to menstruation, the number of people taking time off during their period, and comfort levels discussing menstruation. And they found more than 5000 slang for the period.

Luckily, Clue shared their results on the website, but I looked up some more.

Reference Links ::

Top euphemisms for “period” by language

Menstruation study finds over 5,000 slang terms for ‘period’

12 Of The Weirdest And Worst Euphemisms for the Word ‘Period’

Menstruation: Why Do We Use Euphemisms?

The history of period euphemisms (and why we don’t use them)

Period Euphemisms From Around the World

Words and expressions for menstruation around the world

Leave a comment